Show/Hide Toolbars

DBA Help

The Backup Manager is accessed from the server      

The Backup Manager is accessed from the server by clicking Windows Start – DBA Manufacturing – Utilities – Backup Manager.

 

BackupManagerRestore

 

Use this option to restore data from a backup.  The use of this function should be very rare.  If you are attempting to improve system performance, the Backup and Restore one step procedure should be used.

Get all users out of the DBA system

Before you run the Restore from Backup process, make sure all users have exited the DBA system.  During the restore process, users will not be able to sign into the system.

Screen Details

Two restore options are available:

From backup history

Select this option to restore from the \ProgramData\DBABackups folder, which is where historical backups are stored.    

Company

Select the company name you wish to restore to or the ‘System Database’ option.  

Restore two databases

When you restore from backup, you will always restore two databases -- your registered company database and the ‘System Database’.

Backup Selection  

Your backups for the selected company or system database are listed in the grid.  Select the backup you wish to restore, which would normally be the most recent backup at the top of the list.  

From specified path

Select this option to restore from an *.fbk backup file stored in a location other than the \ProgramData\DBABackup folder.  Use the Find button to navigate to the backup file.  

Select Restore Location

The program automatically finds and displays the restore location.  If you wish to restore to some other folder, use the Find button to navigate to that location.  

Renamed Original Path

As a safety precaution the program automatically renames the existing EJDB.FDB database by appending the file extension as follows:

EJDB.FDB_1.ResBak

If anything happens to interrupt the restore process, the database can be renamed back to EJDB.FDB.    

Restore

Click this button to initiate the restore process.

Restore can take an hour or more to complete

Depending on the size of each database, the restore process can take up to an hour or more to complete.

Restoring an older database to a newer product version

In most situations the backup being restored is only a day or two old.  If for some reason you need to restore an older backup that was made on an earlier product version, upon launch of the program, you will receive an error message stating that “the database is out of sync with the application…”  You are then asked if you wish to upgrade this database.  Click Yes to continue.  If this does not launch the database update routine, you may need to right click on the DBA Icon to launch the program and "Run as Administrator" and then proceed to click Yes to continue.

WARNING: Never restore a newer database to an older product version

Even though you can safely restore an older database to a new product version, never attempt to restore a newer database to an older product version because the database is not backwardly compatible.  

Cancel

Click this button to close the screen without restoring.